Home/ About the Awards / Nominations


2024 Nominations

Nominations for the 2024 Medals are now closed and will be announced on 6 November 2023

To be eligible for the 2024 Medals, the book must have been published in the UK or Ireland between 01 September 2022 and 31 August 2023. See below for the full eligibility requirements.

Nominations Process

Every September CILIP members are invited to nominate one title per Medal which they feel meets the Medal criteria and mission for the Awards.

In addition, several external nominating bodies are invited to submit one nomination per Medal. The external nominating bodies are:

  • Amnesty International
  • BookTrust
  • CLPE
  • Commonword
  • English and Media Centre
  • IBBY
  • National Literacy Trust
  • RNIB
  • The Reading Agency
  • CILIP School Libraries Group

Nominators should consult the eligibility criteria (see below) before making their nomination and familiarise themselves with the Medals criteria and Awards mission. Nominators will be asked to provide a supporting statement detailing why the book they have selected deserves to win the Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing or Illustration.


To be eligible for the Awards, titles must have been first published in the UK or Ireland between 1 September and 31 August of the previous calendar year. Books first published in another country must have been co-published in the UK or Ireland within three months of the original publication date.

The book must be written in the English language (either as an original work in English or a first English translation of a foreign-language work) and specifically published for children and young people.

The book may be co-authored; however, multiple author anthologies are excluded.

In the case of e-books and short stories or poetry previously published in a magazine or elsewhere, the point of publication should be considered as the date when the work is published as a whole. At least 75% of the complete work must be original material published for the first time within the specified time frame.

All categories of books, including poetry, non-fiction and graphic novels, in print or ebook format, for children and young people are eligible.

Books by previous Medal winners are eligible.