Home/ Archive / Medal for Illustration Winners

Medal for Illustration Winners

The full list of Kate Greenaway Medal Winners (now the Carnegie Medal for Illustration since 2022) are listed below.

Please note that before 2007 the year refers to when the book was published rather than when the medal was awarded i.e. the 2005 winner was announced and the medal presented in July 2006.

2023 Jeet Zdung, Saving Soyra: Chang and the Sun Bear, Kingfisher
2022 Danica Novgorodoff, Long Way Down, Faber
2021 Sydney Smith, Small in the City, Walker Books
2020 Shaun Tan, Tales from the Inner City, Walker Books
2019 Jackie Morris, The Lost Words, Penguin
2018 Sydney Smith, Town Is by the Sea, Walker Books
2017 Lane Smith, There is a Tribe of Kids, Two Hoots
2016 Chris Riddell, The Sleeper and the Spindle, Bloomsbury
2015 William Grill, Shackleton’s Journey, Flying Eye
2014 Jon Klassen, This Is Not My Hat, Walker Books
2013 Levi Pinfold, Black Dog, Templar
2012 Jim Kay, A Monster Calls, Walker Books
2011 Grahame Baker-Smith, FArTHER, Templar
2010 Freya Blackwood, Harry & Hopper, Scholastic
2009 Catherine Rayner, Harris Finds His Feet, Little Tiger Press
2008 Emily Gravett, Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears, Macmillan
2007 Mini Grey, The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon, Jonathan Cape
2005 Emily Gravett, Wolves, Macmillan
2004 Chris Riddell, Jonathan Swift’s “Gulliver”, Walker
2003 Shirley Hughes, Ella’s Big Chance, The Bodley Head
2002 Bob Graham, Jethro Byrde – Fairy Child, Walker
2001 Chris Riddell, Pirate Diary, Walker
2000 Lauren Child, I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, Orchard Books
1999 Helen Oxenbury, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Walker
1998 Helen Cooper, Pumpkin Soup, Doubleday
1997 P J Lynch, When Jessie Came Across the Sea, Walker
1996 Helen Cooper, The Baby Who Wouldn’t Go To Bed, Doubleday
1995 P J Lynch, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey, Walker
1994 Gregory Rogers, Way Home, Anderson Press
1993 Alan Lee, Black Ships Before Troy, Frances Lincoln
1992 Anthony Browne, Zoo,Julia MacRae
1991 Janet Ahlberg, The Jolly Christmas Postman, Heinemann
1990 Gary Blythe, The Whales’ Song, Hutchinson
1989 Michael Foreman, War Boy: a Country Childhood, Pavilion
1988 Barbara Firth, Can’t You Sleep Little Bear?, Walker
1987 Adrienne Kennaway, Crafty Chameleon, Hodder & Stoughton
1986 Fiona French, Snow White in New York, OUP
1985 Juan Wijngaard, Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady, Walker
1984 Errol Le Cain, Hiawatha’s Childhood, Faber
1983 Anthony Browne, Gorilla, Julia MacRae
1982 Michael Foreman, Long Neck & Thunder Foot, Kestrel and Gollancz
1982 Michael Foreman, Sleeping Beauty & Other Favourite Fairy Tales, Kestrel and Gollancz
1981 Charles Keeping, The Highwayman, OUP
1980 Quentin Blake, Mr Magnolia, Cape
1979 Jan Pienkowski, The Haunted House, Heinemann
1978 Janet Ahlberg, Each Peach Pear Plum, Kestrel
1977 Shirley Hughes, Dogger, Bodley Head
1976 Gail E Haley, The Post Office Cat, Bodley Head
1975 Victor Ambrus, Horses in Battle, OUP
1975 Victor Ambrus, Mishka, OUP
1974 Pat Hutchins, The Wind Blew, Bodley Head
1973 Raymond Briggs, Father Christmas, H Hamilton
1972 Krystyna Turska, The Woodcutter’s Duck, H Hamilton
1971 Jan Pienkowski, The Kingdom under the Sea, Cape
1970 John Burningham, Mr Gumpy’s Outing, Cape
1969 Helen Oxenbury, The Quangle Wangle’s Hat, Heinemann
1969 Helen Oxenbury, The Dragon of an Ordinary Family, Heinemann
1968 Pauline Baynes, Dictionary of Chivalry, Longman
1967 Charles Keeping, Charlotte and the Golden Canary, OUP
1966 Raymond Briggs, Mother Goose Treasury, H Hamilton
1965 Victor Ambrus, The Three Poor Tailors, OUP
1964 C W Hodges, Shakespeare’s Theatre, OUP
1963 John Burningham, Borka: the Adventure of a Goose with No Feathers, Cape
1962 Brian Wildsmith, A.B.C, OUP
1961 Antony Maitland, Mrs Cockle’s Cat, Constable
1960 Gerald Rose, Old Winkle and the Seagulls, Faber
1959 William Stobbs, Kashtanka, OUP
1959 William Stobbs, A Bundle of Ballads, OUP
1957 V H Drummond, Mrs Easter and the Storks, Faber
1956 Edward Ardizzone, Tim All Alone, OUP

In 1958 and 1955 the prize was withheld as no book was considered suitable