The Yoto Carnegies celebrate outstanding reading experiences in children’s writing and illustration respectively and are unique in being judged by librarians.

Explore the 2023 Longlists

About the Medals

The Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing is awarded annually to a children’s book author whose writing creates an outstanding reading experience. It was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie, founder of more than 2800 libraries.

The Yoto Carnegie Medal for Illustration, formerly known as the Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, and is awarded annually to a children’s book illustrator whose artwork creates an outstanding reading experience.

By uniting the Medals for Writing and Illustration under The Carnegies name, the awards are able to more strongly emphasise our library-led origins and champion the central role of libraries and librarians in the awards.

The associated shadowing scheme sees thousands of reading groups in schools and libraries in the UK and internationally get involved in the Awards each year. Children and young people share their views and creative responses to the shortlisted books, getting involved in reading related activity in groups, and having their voices heard by voting for their favourite books to win The Yoto Carnegie Shadowers’ Choice Awards.

We are looking forward to revealing our new Medal Designs for all 4 Carnegie Awards in 2023. Follow us @CarnegieMedals on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and TikTok for the latest news and updates about the #YotoCarnegies23!

Key Dates for the Yoto Carnegies 2023

7 November 2022: 2023 Nominations published

15 February 2023: 2023 Longlist announcement

17 March 2023: 2023 Shortlist announcement and Shadowing begins

May 2023: Shadowers’ Choice Voting opens. Exact dates to be announced.

21 June 2023: Medal and Shadowers’ Choice Award Winners announced during a livestreamed ceremony.